President Obama Official Campaign Playlist

• MISC • [ 2 comments ]

President Obama, Official Campaign, Playlist, Arcade Fire, Bruce Springsteen, music, mp3

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen or heard of a presidential campaign having an official playlist. Sure they’ve used particular songs to represent their values throughout a campaign, but a full playlist is out of the ordinary. But that’s exactly what Obama created, and tweeted, this morning. His own campaign launched an official 28-song playlist that includes tracks from Arcade Fire to Bruce Springsteen. You can go have a listen over on Spotify.

We already knew that Obama is a bit of a music connoisseur, who even enjoys his share of hip-hop (although no tracks made the final cut). And the 28 tracks, whether he picked them of not, actually make up a pretty respectable playlist! My only question is: wouldn’t this technically violate the SOPA bill if it were passed?!

Full track list below:

01 No Doubt – “Different People”
02 Earth Wind & Fire Experience feat. Al McKay Allstars – “Got To Get You Into My Life – (Live)”
03 Booker T. & The MG’s – “Green Onions – Single/LP Version”
04 Wilco – “I Got You”
05 The Impressions – “Keep On Pushing – Single Version”
06 Jennifer Hudson – “Love You I Do”
07 AgesandAges – “No Nostalgia”
08 Ledisi – “Raise Up”
09 Sugarland – “Stand Up”
10 Darius Rucker – “This”
11 Arcade Fire – “We Used to Wait”
12 Florence And The Machine – “You’ve Got The Love”
13 James Taylor – “Your Smiling Face”
14 REO Speedwagon – “Roll With The Changes”
15 Raphael Saadiq – “Keep Marchin’”
16 Noah And The Whale – “Tonight’s The Kind Of Night”
17 Zac Brown Band – “Keep Me In Mind”
18 Aretha Franklin – “The Weight”
19 U2 – “Even Better Than The Real Thing”
20 Dierks Bentley – “Home”
21 Sugarland – “Everyday America”
22 Darius Rucker – “Learn To Live”
23 Al Green – “Let’s Stay Together”
24 Electric Light Orchestra – “Mr. Blue Sky”
25 Montgomery Gentry – “My Town”
26 Ricky Martin – “The Best Thing About Me Is You Feat. Joss Stone”
27 Ray LaMontagne – “You Are The Best Thing”
28 Bruce Springsteen – “We Take Care Of Our Own”

- T&A - YMT


Want to say something?

2 responses to “President Obama Official Campaign Playlist”

  1. […] track entitled ‘We Take Care Of Our Own’, which was also announced as the closer on the official Obama playlist. Now we have an official video to pair up with the catchy tune. Nothing too spectacular about the […]

  2. eileen says:

    why would any of this violate SOPA (if passed)?

    • L.U - YMT says:

      It wouldn’t actually violate SOPA because Spotify isn’t in harm of losing its rights… But I do enjoy the idea of the president promoting “free” music, when that is exactly what SOPA is (at its basics) trying to deter.

  3. […] that aside, I’m not trying THIS post that serious. Check out the playlist compatible with Spotify, which I’m sure Obama’s marketing/publicity team created, but I […]

  4. […] min ago • 1 views • MISC If you have a good enough memory, you probably recall President Obama’s official campaign playlist last year. The playlist included some notable artists, including Arcade Fire, Bruce Springsteen, […]